Documents Required to Obtain a Marriage License
1. La. R.S. 9:225 requires that applicants provide a certified copy of each applicant’s birth certificate. If either party cannot produce a certified copy of their birth certificate due to extenuating circumstances, a waiver issued by a justice of the peace or district judge MUST be provided.
If either applicant was born out-of-the country and IS a naturalized citizen, they must present their original citizenship or naturalization papers with a valid state ID or Drivers License along with a waiver issued by a justice of the peace or district judge.
If either applicant was born out-of-the country and IS NOT a naturalized citizen, they must present an original foreign birth certificate in English or with a translation into English by a certified translator on official letterhead. If either party cannot satisfy the birth certificate requirement, we will accept a valid passport along with a waiver issued by a justice of the peace or district judge.
2. State law prohibits the marriage of persons who are related by blood or adoption within the fourth degree collateral (first cousins).
3. If either party is divorced or widowed, applicant must provide a certified copy of divorce judgment or death certificate which provides applicants name as surviving spouse. If the documents originated outside the United States, they must present an original with a translation into English by a certified translator on official letterhead. Foreign language originals must be submitted along with original translations.
4. Applicants are also required to supply their Social Security numbers. If an applicant does not have a U.S. Social Security number, they must appear in person at the time of application to sign and date a statement before the issuing clerk stating they do not have a social security number because they are a citizen of another country (La. R.S.9:224).
5. A medical certificate is not required.
6. A Louisiana marriage license is valid in any parish in Louisiana for a period of 30 days from issuance. There is a 24-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. If the 24 hours have been exceeded you may apply for a 24 hour waiver which must be signed by a district Judge or Justice of the Peace in the parish in which the license is issued.
7. Your completed marriage license application which you may download here for your convenience. Either the bride or the groom must each complete this application, and this form must be presented by either applicant in person. To download this form, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader:
8. Both applicants are required to come into the office to complete the application if the application is to be signed before a Deputy Clerk of the Clerk’s Office. As stated in 7. above, the application may also be downloaded and completed prior to applicants coming into the office, at which time the application MUST be signed before a Notary Public. If application is signed before a Notary Public, one applicant may come to the office to complete process, but that person must have all documents and social security numbers for both applicants.
9. Both parties’ driver’s licenses.
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. If an applicant is under 18 years of age both parents must appear in person with applicant. If either applicant is under 16 years of age applicant and parents must appear before a juvenile judge for permission to marry and must present state ID or Drivers License before a marriage license can be issued. If one parent has sole custody certified documents must be presented showing sole custody. No temporary orders are acceptable.
A Louisiana marriage license is valid in any parish in Louisiana for a period of 30 days from issuance. There is a 24-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. The waiting period must be waived by a district judge or justice of the peace in the parish where the license was issued. Newlyweds should order a certified copy of their marriage license two weeks after the marriage to insure that the license has been returned and recorded. A form to obtain a copy or copies by mail is available here.
$32.00, cash or check or money order only
Marriage Licenses issued Monday through Friday between the hours of 9:00 am to 3:00 pm ONLY.